What are Chakras?
Chakras are our energy centers and are the openings for life energy to flow into and out of our aura.  There are seven major chakras called Prana, life force, or vital energy and are located vertically along the spinal column that run from the base of the spine (between the legs) to the top of the head.  Each chakra appears as a vortex that spins inward from the front of the body, to the center point of the chakra on the kundalini, and then outward from the back.  The word "chakra" is derived from the Sanskrit work meaning "wheel" and translates to mean "wheel of spinning energy" in Sanskrit, which is an ancient Indic language of India.  Each major chakras controls certain aspects of our life and are associated with our spiritual advancement.

The functions of the chakras is to vitalize the physical body and to bring about the development of our self-consciousness.  They are associated with our physical, mental, and emotional interactions.
Reiki can help the chakras by bringing them into balance.  Why? - because of daily life stressors, imbalances in the mind and body can happen in a number of ways.  These often show up as physical symptoms, which directly correlate to the energy centers (or chakras) of the body.  Reiki works to balance imbalances in the field, chakras, and subtle body. The practitioner does not control where the energy goes, the energy has its own wisdom and moves to the places most in need of healing.  Some practitioners use hand positions to cover the body from head to foot, and some practitioners stay in the same position for the whole treatment.
How Can Reiki Help the Chakras?
Reiki will always go where it is needed most.
In Reiki, the practitioner learns how to feel the energy of each chakra and helps bring them into balance.  During a healing session the practitioner will generally give reiki to the chakra centers, removing any blockages that may exist within.
Although the blockage occurs at the chakra center, the body may manifest it in other places, such as your shoulder, or your feet.  This is why it is necessary to go through each chakra to find the root cause.

Click below for more info on the Seven Major Chakras

The Seven Major Chakras